our curriculum


Children’s learning is based on the “Early Years Foundation Stage” which was established under the Childcare Act 2006 and is a framework for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. It describes what is meant by high quality Early Years provision in England attended by children from birth up to the age of 5+.

The PRIME areas of
Learning & Development

Lorem The Prime areas are fundamental, work together, and move through to support development in all other areas.


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

– Making relationships
– Self-confidence and self-awareness
– Managing feelings and behaviour

Communication and Language

– Listening and attention
– Understanding
– Speaking

Physical Development

– Moving and handling
– Health and self-care


The SPECIFIC areas of
Learning & Development

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge.  They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.



– Reading
– Writing


– Numbers
– Shape, Space and measure

Understanding the World

– People and communities
– The World
– Technologies

Expressive Arts & Design

– Exploring and using media and materials
– Being imaginative

Find out more

For a full explanation of EYFS visit www.foundationyears.org.uk